Each year Hospitality Group Training formally recognises it’s top apprentices, trainees and employers at an annual awards presentation followed by a cocktail function.  The event pays tribute to young people making a difference in the hospitality and tourism industries through their pursuit of career excellence while working and training on the job as apprentices and trainees.  The awards are attended by hospitality employers, apprentices, trainees and sponsors.

Hospitality Training | WA

HGT Awards 2021

Click here to view all the 2021 Awards photos
John Cox Memorial Trophy/Mondo Butchers Award
Most Outstanding Apprentice
Winner Naomi Velterop – Oggi Bar and Eats
Get Fresh Merchants
Most Outstanding 1st Year Apprentice
Winner  Angus Donovan – Nextdoor 79
Finalists Harrison Gedge – Kuza Urban Japanese

Jessica Joiner – Pan Pacific

Abbie Roberts – Queens Tavern

Rebekah Massang – Herdsman Lake Tavern

Zeffrey Zelan – Peel Ale House

Jayrick Tubigan – Carine Glades Tavern

Glenn Walters – Esplanade Hotel Fremantle by Rydges

Paula Maesa – Creative Catering

Don Hancey – WA Food Ambassador
Most Outstanding 2nd Year Apprentice
Winner  Naomi Velterop – Oggi Bar and Eats
Finalists Henry Tran – White Salt

Ben Regan – Herdsman Lake Tavem

Australian Hotels Association
Most Outstanding Final Year Apprentice
Winner  Kelsey Broadwood  – Pan Pacific Perth
Finalists Harry Russell – The Stables

Yefta Zefanya – Brewed Awakening Café

Connor Cridge – The Sporting Globe

Amy Brown – Cioccolato Expresso

PFD Food Services
Schools Apprentice of the Year
Winner  Courtney Short – Pan Pacific Perth/Mercy College
Finalists Matthew Barklam – The Brook Bar and Bistro

Lucas Slade – Lakers Tavern

Lily Mcdonald – Kalamunda Hotel

Louis Wheeler – Petition Kitchen

Jasmine Swinboum – Hylin

Bars and More
School Trainee of the Year
Winner  Kahlira Barry – Hardy – The Sporting Globe/Rossmoyne Senior High School
Finalists Luke Di Lallo – Dome – Westralia

Luka Vrajic – Belmont Tavern

Xanthe Tholen – North Beach Deli

Australian Hotels Association
Employer of the Year
Winner  Pan Pacific Perth 
Margaret Johnson
Quiet Achiever Award
Winner  Yefta Zefanya – Brewed Awakening
Schools Partnership Award
Winner  Ellenbrook Secondary College

Woodvale Secondary College

South Coast Baptist College

Mount Lawley Senior High School

Great Southern Grammar

St Mary Mackillop College

ALH Group
Mentor Chef of the Year Award
Winner  Josh Vears – Chapters Bistro
Finalists Mathew Field – Optus Stadium

Wendy Medzinski – The Queens

Peter Claeys – Herdsman Lake Tavem

Showcase Bright Star Award
Winner  Angus Donovan – Nextdoor 79

Hall of Fame Most Outstanding Apprentice

2020/21 Naomi Velterop Oggi Bar & Eats
2019/20 Simon Fathy Young George
2018/19 Zach Tholen Shorehouse
2017/18 Lara Kirby Sandalford Wines
2016/17 Lara Kirby Sandalford Wines
2015/16 Isabelle Servaas The Heritage Perth
2014/15 Alexis Watson C Restaurant
2013/14 Gerrit Jansen van Rensberg The Royal on the Waterfront
2012/13 Kate Corkhill Matilda Bay Restaurant
2011/12 Rebecca Wilson X-Wray
2010/11 Ryan Larsen Boulevard Hotel
2009/10 Sarah Brickwood Matilda Bay Restaurant
2008/09 Gavin Chin Matilda Bay Restaurant
2007/08 Justin Mason Hyatt Regency Perth
2006/07 Royston Clark Hyatt Regency Perth
2005/06 Emma Whetnall Royal Perth Yacht Club
2004/05 Robyn Whittaker Burswood Casino
2003/04 Colin Van Haeften Matilda Bay Restaurant
2002/03 Stacey Miller Rydges Hotel
2001/02 Patrick Carlin Hyatt Regency Perth
2000/01 Patrick Carlin Hyatt Regency Perth
1999/00 Iain Grealish Hyatt Regency Perth
1998/99 Natalie Moore Hyatt Regency Perth
1997/98 Emma Paling
1996/97 Tracey Paull Rendezvous Ob City
1995 Allison Doedee-Nixon Hyatt Regency Perth
1994 Janet Bonser Sunnys
1993 Robert DoCarmo Hyatt Regency Perth
1992 Jody Gentle Observation City
1991 Timothy Atwood